ARIZONA STATE PARKS: For Immediate Release
Managing and conserving Arizona’s natural, cultural and recreational resources for the benefit of the people, both in our Parks and through our Partners. FOR MORE INFORMATION CONTACT: Ellen Bilbrey at (602) 542-1996 or (602) 228-8518. Contact by Email: pio(at)

Read Updated Information on Park Closures (Learn More)

Arizona State Parks Keeps Nine Parks Open. Thirteen will Close.

Photograph of Arizona State Parks Board Meeting, January 15, 2010
The public listens as the Board discusses Park closures at the January 15, 2010 meeting, held at the Phoenix Zoo.

Media: Download High Resolution JPG (5 MB) Photo Credit: Arizona State Parks

Originally published: January 15, 2010
Updated: February 17, 2010
(Closure of Riordan Mansion SHP changed to March 29)

This Press Release has been superseded by more recent information. Learn More (Learn More)

The Arizona State Parks Board voted January 15 to keep nine parks open and close the remaining thirteen State Parks in a phased series of closures starting February 22, 2010 due to six different State Parks funds being swept of $8.6 million. In addition, four parks remain closed due to previous budget reductions.

The nine parks that will remain open are ones that generate the most revenue back into the parks operating revolving funds. The parks that will remain open include Buckskin Mountain State Park in Parker, Catalina State Park near Tucson, Cattail Cove State Park in Lake Havasu City, Dead Horse Ranch State Park in Cottonwood, Fool Hollow Lake Recreation Area in Show Low, Kartchner Caverns State Park in Benson, Lake Havasu State Park, Patagonia Lake State Park and Slide Rock State Park in Sedona.

The remaining parks will be closed in a phased sequence starting on February 22, 2010 and include Homolovi State Park in Winslow, and Lyman Lake State Park in St. Johns.

The next park closings will occur on March 29, 2010 and will include Fort Verde State Historic Park in Camp Verde, Roper Lake State Park in Safford, Tombstone Courthouse State Historic Park, Yuma Territorial Prison State Historic Park, Tubac Presidio State Historic Park, and Riordan Mansion State Historic Park in Flagstaff.

The final phased closings will occur on June 3, 2010 and will include Tonto Natural Bridge State Park near Payson, Alamo Lake State Park in Wenden, Lost Dutchman State Park in Apache Junction, Picacho Peak State Park and Red Rock State Park in Sedona.

The remaining parks will continue their agreements with other entities or will be passively managed by an adjacent park. These include Boyce Thompson Arboretum State Park in Superior, Sonoita Creek State Natural Area, Verde River Greenway State Natural Area and Yuma Quartermaster Depot State Historic Park.

Four parks would remain closed. These include Jerome State Historic Park, McFarland State Historic Park in Florence, Oracle State Park, and San Rafael State Natural Area.

For more information about the 27 State Parks, statewide hiking opportunities, off-highway vehicle trails, and other outdoor recreational and cultural opportunities in Arizona, call (602) 542-4174 (outside of the Phoenix metro area call toll-free 800-285-3703) or visit Follow us on


Learn More About the Arizona State Parks Board (Learn More)

Watch Public Comment Video Clips (Learn More)

Read Public Comments fromr our Website (Learn More)

Related: Arizona State Parks Department Facing Budget Crisis (Learn More)

Learn More About the Arizona State Parks Foundation External Link

link to this page:

Press Room Home (Press Room)